We are a traditional free house pub that serves 6 well kept real ales, home cooked food in a friendly family environment. We have a large beer garden with a children's play area.
A step back in time
back to 1851 to be precise
A fine Victorian building stood atop of the hill where the road ended in a rough track to Wood Street. It was in 1853 that Edmund Healy applied for, and got at that first application, a victuallers licence under the sign of the Royal Oak.
The land on which the Royal Oak was erected was known as Torr Field and was part of farmland belonging to Pound Farm in what was then called Mays Hill. A new dwelling-house building was built in 1851 by the landowner William Ede and a twenty-one-year lease granted to G. W. & F. A. Crooke, who were Brewers in Guildford.
The first fourteen years saw six landlords come and go, but sometime between 1867 and 1871 Thomas Wheeler arrived from the ‘Duke of Normandy’. That part of Normandy was in the West End Tithing of Worplesdon, so you could say that he was no stranger, since he had already given ten years’ service on the very borders of the village. He and his daughter served the Royal Oak for more than sixty-seven years.There were six steps down to the cellar and every pint had to be drawn from there. This was partly the reason why the building was demolished in 1928 and the present one built. There was no interruption in trade: the barn beside the pub was used as a temporary bar in order to maintain the licence. The Wheeler family relinquished the Royal Oak sometime during the Second World War, thus completing a record long service.